Honors and Awards

Recipient, 1984 AAAS‑USEPA Summer Environmental Science and Engineering Fellowship.

Octave Chanute Award (Outstanding Paper), Western Society of Engineers, 1984.

Charles Ellet Award (Outstanding Young Engineer), Western Society of Engineers, 1985.

Listed in American Men and Women of Science (1994)

Listed in Who’s Who in Science and Engineering (1996)

Listed in Who’s Who in the East (1997)

Listed in Who’s Who in Medicine and Healthcare (1997)

Listed in Who’s Who in America, 51st edition (1996)

Listed in Who's Who in the World (2001)

Professional Research Award, Pennsylvania Water Environment Association (1997)

American Academy of Microbiology, Elected as Fellow (1997)

Frontiers in Research Award, Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors (sponsored by Malcolm Pirnie, Inc) (2002).

American Association for the Advancement of Science, Elected as Fellow (2002)

Society for Risk Analysis, Elected as Fellow (2002)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Distinguished Alumnus Award (2003)

International Ozone Association, Harvey M. Rosen Memorial Award (best paper in Ozone Science and Engineering for 2001-3) (2003).

National Academies (National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, National Research Council): designated as a lifetime National Associate (2004).

American Water Works Association, advisor to 2nd Place Academic Achievement Award Winner (Christopher Crockett—PhD dissertation) (2005).

American Water Works Association, Water Science and Research Division, best paper award (“Risk Assessment of Waterborne Coxsackievirus”) (2005).

American Academy of Environmental Engineers, Board Certified Environmental Engineering Member (BCEEM), elected by eminence (2007)

American Society of Civil Engineers, elected Fellow (2010)

International Water Association, elected Fellow (2011)

Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors, elected Fellow (inaugural class) (2013)

Society for Risk Analysis, Distinguished Achievement Award (2016)

John Leal Award, American Water Works Association (2017)

Athalie Richardson Irvine Clarke Prize (administered by the National Water Research Institute) (2017)

© Charles Haas 2017