(Illustration by Tim Hall.  From: English, Karen. (1999). Francie. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux.)



Amelia Bloomer List

Each year, the American Library Association's (ALA) Feminist Task Force's Amelia Bloomer Project creates this list of recommended children's, teen, and adult books that embody feminist ideals. 



Américas Award

The Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP) annually grants the Américas Award for English or Spanish language works of fiction, poetry, folklore, or non-fiction.  The Award recognizes literature that accurately represents Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States. 



Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

A project of the Asian/Pacific America Librarians Association, this award highlights children's, young adult, and adult literature featuring Asian American themes. 



Carter G. Woodson Award

This annual award honors distinguished social science books that depict ethnicity in the U.S.  The National Council for the Social Studies presents award for elementary, middle, and secondary school books.  



Coretta Scott King Award

ALA's Social Responsibilities Round Table presents this annual award to authors and illustrators of African decent.  This award celebrates books that promote an understanding of the “American dream.”



Dolly Gray Award

The Dolly Gray Award recognizes children’s fiction with positive portrayals of individuals with developmental disabilities.



Gustavus Myers Award

This award goes to works that "extend our understanding of the root causes of bigotry and the range of options we as humans have in constructing alternative ways to share power."



Jane Addams Children's Book Award

Presented annually since 1953 by the Women's International League for Peace & Freedom and the Jane Addams Peace Association, these awards honor books that promote peace, social justice, and racial and gender equity.



John Steptoe Award for New Talent

This award recognizes African American writers and illustrators at the beginning of their careers.  It is presented annually for text and illustrations, either for one book as a whole or for individual publications.



Mildred L. Batchelder Award

This is another ALA award.  It is given annually to the most outstanding foreign-language children's books translated into English and published in the United States.



National Jewish Book Awards

The National Book Awards include two award divisions for youth literature: the Children’s Literature Award division (juvenile literature), and the Louis Posner Memorial Award (picture books).  Both awards recognize works that focus on Jewish themes.



Native Writers' Circle of the Americas Awards

The only awards given Indian writers by Indian people, these annual awards are not given specifically for young people’s literature.  However, some youth titles are included in the lists of winners.



Pura Belpré Award

ALA’s Association for Library Service to Children presents this award to Latino/Latina writers and illustrators whose work for children best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience.



Schneider Family Book Award

The is an ALA annual award that is given each year to three author or illustrators for excellence in representing the experiences of children with disabilities.



Sydney Taylor Book Awards

The Association of Jewish Libraries gives these annual awards to children’s books that have positive Jewish content.  Awards are also given for children’s book manuscripts written by unpublished authors.



Tomas Rivera Mexican American Children's Book Award

This award is given annually to the author/illustrator of the most distinguished book for children and young adults that authentically reflects the lives and experiences of Mexican Americans in the Southwestern region of the United States.






Return to Denise Agosto's home page

created 10/23/02; last updated 12/30/06